Tags

, ,


I’ve had a few questions and comments on Gummo abnd Dogme 95 films after my post with the Nosferatu soundtrack. In a while I’ll have a few Veil Of Thorns videos and some more comics related stuff for you, but for today, I’ll give you more info from a fan perspective on Harmony Korine and Dogme 95. Several of you remember me obsessing over Gummo many years ago.

I’ve been too wrapped up in married life and my own work to get like that, which is a good thing, but there is a direction I’m going to be taking in the future that will be related to all this. His is a chaotic creativity that has truly inspires me.

I’ve brought you this before, but it’s worth watching again: Interview with Harmony Korine and Bruce La Bruce

With my tendancy to paint using dozens of layers of glazes, record five hundred track songs and ither such monstrosities, I find it liberating creatively to set strict limits for a project, as it tends to focus me, and that’s the appeal Dogme 95 has for me. Not that different from creating Blackmetal in the classic “Necro” vein…

I seem to recall his having a site years ago, but what is there now are a bunch of fan sites, a few of which are worth checking out:

http://www.harmony-korine.com an oft-updated fansite that has frequent and accurate news.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Harmony_Korine Wikipedia page
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=3142341747164689673 The Name of this Film is Dogme 95 on Google video
http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-4115488848956565538&q=harmony+korine&pl=true Julen Donkey Boy Excerpt on Google video

I first heard of the Dogme 95 Manifesto through the press that surrounded the film Julien, Donkey Boy. Tyhe following is a quote from www.harmony-korine.com:

The second film from Harmony Korine, julien donkey-boy (1999) tells the story of the schizophrenic Julien, his pregnant sister Pearl, brother Chris and their manical father. It was the first American film certified by the Danish film movement Dogme 95, shot under the manifesto’s tenets after a decision made just a month before filming began. julien donkey-boy premiered at the Venice Film Festival on the 7th of October, 1999. It began its US theatrical run on the 15th.

In a post last year, thoughts of the movie Gummo sent me in search of Harmony Korine on the web, leading me Here.

Finally, I recommend that you listen to “Psychosis Ex Machina” and “Panic Pandemic” back to back, or perhaps both on shuffle and repeat simultaneously while watching Gummo with the sound off, I will not be held responsible for the resulting experience.


counter stats