I always knew I liked Kinky Friedman, ever since I first heard “Thay Ain’t Makin’ Jews Like Jesus Anymore”. Case in point; here’s a clip of Kinky speaking a bit of truth on that monomaniacal bride of Christ, Mother Teresa. Her passion was actually to make sure that Catholics procreate and multiply, and make sure no sex education or birth control be made available to people in the third world.

Kinky has been an increasingly popular writer of funny, way too readable and surreal crime novels over the past couple of decades, but he hasn’t lost perspective in his success, as evidenced here. How much is comedy and how much is a desire to change things can be decided by the individual, but the anarchists would do well to have a redneck quotient.

I may have to move to Texas to cast my vote for Kinky in the governor’s race. An anti Arnold, if ever I encountered one, from his ill-hidden intelligence to his unwillingness to play the game for too long.

Thuis goes out to the terminally fasionable and genre nazis:

Kinky Friedman Live