I have just finished giving an interview with [info]mickmercer that should prove most interesting. One of the things I like best about him is that he doesn’t ask all the usual questions, nor is he necessarily easy on his subjects. I’ll let you know when you can obtain you free copy of The Mick # 18. I’ll be sending him some imagery, maybe even some pretty pictures of one P. Emerson.

I’ll be sending out the pre-ordered books in the coming week. I thank you all for your patience. This project has been quite some time coming. We’ll not be taking any more orders for the limited edition starting Tuesday, as there are only a few left. I’ll let you know where you can order the CD and book seperately, though, of course, the second disk will never be heard by those who haven’t ordered the first edition.

Next:

Bentmen!

I found out recently that Bentmen, those fine, sick bastards from Boston are about to unleash a new album. Why they’re not dominating all music, I’ll never figure out. Their lyrics and music has been described as expressionist — designed to convey an emotion or a thought rather than a block of lyrical content. HMMM… sounds familiar. “To experience a Bentmen show is like swimming naked in a big pool of gummy candy, it’s oddly disturbing and far too much fun to be healthy. Each show is an unforgettable experience that you will forever carry, whether you want to or not. The Bentmen have worked hard to break down all barriers and have brought aerosol shaving products to their rightful place; coating their fans. If you haven’t seen the Bentmen yet, enjoy your normal life while it lasts, because after you enter the Church of Bent you’ll never be the same. If you’re looking to have your mind blown into tiny little feather-covered pieces, look no further than the Bentmen.” -The Pit Report

Veil Of Thorns used to have a space in the Sound Museum, the rehearsal complex run by Bentmen mastermind Dez. One of the funniest bastards I have ever met. I even miss the cheap pizza and beer that was sold right by the elevators. I never was truly a part of the Bostion scene, but genius like Bentmen need to be recognized and remembered. Hearing this brings me back to the days at Ground Zero, bills including Sleep Chamber, Requiem In White and Nisi Period, the latter having Dez as a psychotic special guest.

I’ve ripped some tunes off the site to offer you below. Be sure to check the site out as well. Buy all their releases, you’ll not be sorry.

-Smooches…-333

Magicroom
Swanee
Oblivions Engine
Holy Man
Dance Of The Astro Zombies
iCE cREAM cLOWN (lIVE)
Bad Thing
Flatfoot

The OfficIAL bENTMEN sITE:

Bentmen.com